Happy Belated Mothers Day!

Hey all! I’m back to show you the two Mothers Day cards I gave this year. (I didn’t want to show them ahead of time because I didn’t want one of our moms to accidentally see them early!)


First up is the card I gave to my mom.

The Card Front

I started off by stamping the star and moon and the mama and baby bear in some Memento Tuxedo Black ink since I was going to be Copic coloring on some 110lb. Recollections paper, which I have found to be a good weight for Copic coloring.

Copic Colors Used:

Mama Bear- E11, E13, E15, E19

Baby Bear- E11, E13, E15

Moon and Star- Y15, Y17

After they were colored, I masked them with some rubber cement and a kids paint brush, which I find to be a very reasonably priced masking option that does not damage the card stock.

IMG_4615

Once the colored images were masked and the rubber cement was dry, I colored the background of this scene with distress inks. I used the color Stormy Sky for the sky and Mowed Lawn for the grass. To make the outline of the hill, I simply cut a piece of junk mail and used Washi tape to keep it onto the paper.

I used the Creative Confetti die to create some extra stars for the card and used Ranger’s Multi-Medium in Matte to attach them to the front of the card with a tiny star in the baby bear’s paw. I also covered all of the stars and the moon with some Wink of Stella, so they would glisten.

I added the “I Love You’ sentiment to the front of my card by adding the stamped greeting to a white die cut stitched rectangle from the My Favorite Things Stitched Rectangle Stax. Then I heat embossed this greeting with some Ranger Liquid Platinum embossing powder (which is currently my favorite color embossing powder).

IMG_4616

I kept the envelope very simple. I used the small prints and the heart in the stamp set and made it so the paw prints create a path off of the envelope. IMG_4617


The second card was for my mother-in-law.

The Card Front

I had pre-colored these bears from Bear Hugs from Mama Elephant in my spare time.

Copic Colors Used:

Mama Bear- E11, E13, E15, E19, R20

Baby Bear- E11, E13, E15, E19, R20 (In hindsight, I would have used less colors on the baby bear to make him a little lighter.

Then I added some highlight dots to the cheeks with my Uni-Ball Signo Broad white gel pen.

For the background, I cut a hill with the Landscape Trio die set out of some patterned papers I have in my stash. I tried adding some color to the edges of the patterned paper with B00 for the sky and G00 for the grass. I added these pieces of the landscape to the front of the card with some Scotch double sided tape and added some Stickles glitter glue to the line in between the sky and the grass. I also added several dots of the same glitter glue at the top and bottom of the card to tie this glitter glue in with the design of the card.

IMG_4618

I added the “I Love You” sentiment to the front of my card by adding the stamped greeting to a white die cut stitched rectangle from the My Favorite Things Stitched Rectangle Stax. Then I heat embossed this greeting with some Ranger Liquid Platinum embossing powder. Then I stamped “words can never describe just how much” over the I Love You in Audrey Blue from Simon Says Stamp.

IMG_4619


I hope you enjoyed a look at these cards and how I created them. If you’d like a look at the products I used, you can check them out below.

Love, Cindy ADH

Leave a Reply

