Super Parents: Featuring Mama Elephant’s Nursery Deco and Tiny Heroes

Hey Crafty Friends!
I’m back with a card that is near and dear to my heart. This is a card I made for one of my best friends at her baby shower. Her theme was super heroes, since she’s having a little boy. Let’s take a look.
 

IMG_4800

Card Front

I started by cutting my card front. I chose a 4.25in by 5.5in piece of 110 lb. Recollections card stock (from Michaels) and die cut it so it would have a faux stitched rectangle border around the whole piece. I knew I wanted to make the whole scene by coloring it in, so I didn’t want to trim any borders.

Next I stamped my images. I stamped a boy and a girl from the Mama Elephant’s Tiny Heroes set and a ball from the Nursery Deco set. I used a Copic Multi-liner to add the balloon piece at the bottom of the balloon and the strings, so it looked like both of the heroes were holding onto the same balloon.

Next I went to work coloring the scene. Here are the colors I used:

Heroes and Balloon:

  • E00
  • E02
  • R20
  • B12
  • B14
  • B18
  • R24
  • R27
  • R29
  • Y13
  • Y15
  • Y17
  • Y19
  • YR14
  • YR18
  • E15
 Background:
  • B00
  • C01
  • C03
  • R59

IMG_4802

After masking off the scene with some rubber cement, I also used some distress ink to blend in the background. I found that the color Tumbled Glass almost matches B00 perfectly! Plus it makes for a very pretty skyline! It also provides a more defined border.

Since I used the MISTI stamping tool, I was able to re-stamp the sentiment with ease using Versamark ink and heat embossed it with clear embossing powder.

I finished off the card front by adding some Wink of Stella and Glossy accents to details on the card, such at their stars and the balloon.


The Card Base
I used some Simon Says Stamp card stock for the base and man, I just love it. It’s sturdy and perfect! I used the color Fog to tie into the colors I used for the rooftop in my scene.
I made sure I stamped the back with my custom stamp “handmade by cindy” since it was going to a personal friend.

Hindsight is 20/20 

There are a couple fails noted with this card. First being, this started off as a watercolored card. Unfortunately, that did not pan out well. So what I did was switch it to a Copic colored card. I’m so much more comfortable coloring with Copics, so it worked out much better.
Another fail happened when I was embossing. I usually heat both the front and back of the paper I am heat embossing to prevent uneven warping. However, when I did it for this card, I flipped the hot embossing powder down on my craft mat. Luckily, it was not damaged during that oops moment of mine!

I hope you had as much fun as I did looking at this card and I hope it encourages you to mix and match some stamps sets you didn’t expect.

 Love, Cindy ADH

Products from Ellen Hutson

Products from Hallmark Scrapbook:

Products from Simon Says Stamp:

